Great Inspirational Movies

Reading a book usually takes more time than watching a movie. In some ways, I think movies are more vivid than books and can leave a deeper impression on me. So I want to introduce some movies about self-improvement to you. I hope they can inspire you to want to make a change.

It is about an entrepreneur Chris Gardner (Will Smith). He undergoes a lot of challenges and hardships, such as losing the job, his wife leaving him and being homeless, but he does not give up in order to provide a better life for his son.

As a father, he has to struggle to improve himself until he finds a new job that can support their lives. During his journey, he always tries to discover his potential and makes efforts to change himself to achieve the goal. Finally, he succeeds.

It is based on the best-selling eponymous memoir written by Gardner with Quincy Troupe. This is one of my favorite movies. Actually, I started to watch this movie because my mother recommended it and asked me to watch it, but I am grateful to her for doing this. Because of this movie, I knew Will Smith.

  • 3 Idiots

It focuses on the friendship among three engineering students and their college lives. As Farhan (R. Madhavan) and Raju (Sharman Joshi) search the valleys for their missing friend Rancho (Aamir Khan), their memories date back to the days when they were college roommates.

This movie shows that if people keep chasing excellence, success will follow them. Everyone should believe in themselves and be confident of what they want to do. Pursuing excellence requires people to persist in self-improvement with passion and patience.

It was inspired by the novel Five Point Someone by Chetan Bhagat. I had opportunities to watch it twice, and this is the first movie for me to know about Bollywood. When I watched this for the first time, I was young so that there were many things that I could not understand. I thought it was interesting and attractive to me only because it was funny. Later, I understood its meanings.

The film tells the story of Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins), a banker who is sentenced to life in Shawshank State Penitentiary for the murder of his wife and her lover, despite his claims of innocence. In the prison, he makes friends with a fellow inmate, Ellis Boyd “Red” Redding (Morgan Freeman), and experiences a lot in 19 years.

The story shows a man finds hope and manages to keep himself motivated in a seemingly hopeless situation. Sometimes making changes can save yourself. Dreams and goals are important, but how to take action to achieve them are much more essential. Wherever you are, only you can change your life.

It was adapted from the Stephen King novella Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption. I also knew and watched this movie at a young age. This movie is even older than me, but I think it is good enough to have such great influence so far.

Those films were all adapted from books, and I think they are all classic movies. Maybe you have already watched them before even more than once, but I still encourage you to review them. Perhaps you will find something new and have a different feeling and understanding this time. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑